Giving Thanks (Bonus yam recipe)

Thanksgiving. My (almost) favorite holiday! Food, fun, and family all rolled into one beautiful fall day (or as fall as Southern California can get). This holiday was bittersweet since were unable to spend the holidays with my family. Fortunately I have built an amazing family here with some incredible friends. Sitting around with people you love makes it easy to see what you are so very thankful for. It was Avery’s first time joining in and eating the food and she loved every bite. Her favorite was of course the turkey.

I have so much in life to be thankful for. My beautiful daughter and amazing husband. God has blessed us abundently and we will continue as a family to serve him.

My contribution was was the yams and homemade pumpkin and apple pie, mmmmmmm. The yam recipe is one that my mom has made for years and is by far my FAVORITE. I will include the recipe at the bottom.

Here are some pictures from our fun day.

My FAAAAAVORITE pie of all time…

Image

ImageImage

Our wonderful friends Dave and Melissa

Image

And My little peanut who would not stay still long enough to get a picture of! Her entire outfit is from Old Navy.

Image

Yummy Yams:

2 Pounds of peeled yams cut into 1 inch cubes

1 1/2 cups unsweetened applesauce

2/3 cup packed brown sugar

1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 cup of toasted nuts (I used walnuts)

Mix all ingredients expect potatoes together. Place potatoes in crockpot and cover with mixture. Cover and cook on low 6-7 hours. Mix in nuts just prior to serving! Enjoy 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

