DIY Fabric Triangle Banner

I recently had pictures taken of my daughter and decided to make a banner as a photo prop for her photos. My lovely photographer loved it so much she asked me to make her a few!

Here is a quick tutorial on how to make these fun banners!

Here are the stars of the show:

Twine, fun colored fabric, fabric scissors. OPTIONAL items (to make life easier)  rotary blade, mat for cutting, acrylic stencil thing (not sure its technical name…)

ImageOnce you get all your items set its time to cute everything out. I made a template from one piece of fabric and used that to cute all my other pieces of fabric so I made sure I was consistent with the size of the triangles. You can do whatever shape you like I just decided on triangles. Also I stacked multiple fabric so it made the cutting process easier.

ImageImageOnce you get them all cut out its time to sew them onto the twine. Wrap the top of the fabric around the twine and place it under the pedal of your machine. I chose to do a zigzag stitch to give it some interest and a little extra flair!

Image

Make sure you trim off any extra fabric from the back for a clean look.Image

 

Tie a knot at the end of the twine and TADA!

ImageHere is the second one I made!ImageHope this helps!

Happy sewing- Stef

 

 

Leave a Reply

